Skip to content

Casserole Craze

May 8, 2011

After the fun that was muffin mania, I decided I needed another type of food to focus on.  This time I won’t even attempt to make one per day for a week, as it would get to be a bit much for a two person household.  My latest ambition?  Casseroles.

I’m not much of a casserole eater, and therefore I’m not much of a casserole maker.  My husband, on the other hand, loves all things casserole.  I’d like to get a bit better at making them, and I’m certainly willing to try.  My challenge, then, is to find a casserole that I’ll actually enjoy eating.  Tuna noodle casserole is out of the running immediately, as is anything that calls for cream-of-anything soup.  What’s left?  Lots, as it turns out!  Here are the runners up.

pizza casserole from allrecipes.com

Mexican lasagna form Recipe Shoebox

burrito pie from allrecipes.com*

baked parmesan spaghetti from How Sweet It Is

easy rice bake casserole from Food Network

chicken broccoli cheese bake from Joyful Abode

chicken, broccoli, and ziti casserole from Cook’s Country

chicken tetrazzini from Taste of Home

seven layer tortilla pie from allrecipes.com

hearty taco casserole from Recipe Shoebox

baked macaroni and cheese from Eating Well

hamburger noodle casserole from Taste of Home

enchilada casserole from Recipe Shoebox

I do realize foods called “pies” are not necessarily casseroles… however, I think pies and casseroles must be first cousins, so I’ll include them in my list.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sharon permalink
    January 31, 2012 2:55 pm

    did you ever figure out the measurements/ratio for the sause…chicken broccoli cheese bake?? i am afraid to make it with out knowing

    • February 1, 2012 7:28 am

      I didn’t make it – sorry! I would guess two tablespoons each of flour and butter, then add a tablespoon milk and a cup of cheese. If it looks too thin, add more cheese or flour; if it looks too thick add more milk.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

