Skip to content

Good Old Tomato Pie – the original recipe

February 6, 2011

The first time I made (or even tried, for that matter) tomato pie was Christmas a few years back. It didn’t sound particularly appetizing, but Paul was craving it, so I thought it was worth a shot.

Here’s the original recipe that I got from my mother-in-law – she added a few tips in the recipe.  If I’m understanding correctly, it’s originally from my husband’s grandfather, so I’m guessing some of the comments may be his as well.

Tomorrow I’ll post a few other versions we’ve made over the last year or two.

Good Old Tomato Pie

recipe from Paul’s family
makes 8 servings

Ingredients

Store bought frozen pie crust, 8-10-inch diameter (deep dish).

Tomatoes – 4-5 (large), 6-8 (small), sliced or cubed, peeled or unpeeled as preferred.

  • Add flour to thicken

Onions, peppers, water chestnuts, etc. Diced and added as available. (I like zucchini and mushrooms)

Brown sugar – sprinkle 2-3 tablespoons over tomatoes.

Salt, Pepper, Thyme, Oregano, Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, etc., to taste.

Cheese – grated – 1 cup medium or sharp cheddar, plus 1 cup Monterey Jack, plus 1 cup miracle whip (mayonnaise) mixed and spread to cover.  (I use about ½ this much)

Meat – may add diced ham, bacon, turkey, chicken, leftovers (meatloaf).

Directions:

Mix and fix ingredients as above. Place into frozen pie crust. Bake in pre-heated oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Serve hot, and use as a vegetable. Delicious reheated in the microwave oven etc.

P.S. Frozen tomato slices or cubes work well for year round availability, Tomato pie goes well with wine or beer.

I usually make two at a time (two frozen crusts per package) and use up any vegetables in the fridge. I cook them both and freeze one. Just thaw and reheat in oven.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

