Skip to content

Nutritious Lunch and Snack Ideas

February 14, 2011

Paul and I bring brown bag lunches to work every day.  Well, thermal bag lunches, if we’re being technical.  I’m in a rut, though.   An average lunch would include a sandwich, apple or orange, NutriGrain bar, and Craisins.  A delicious lunch, yes, but it could use a little variety now and then.  I’ll sometimes throw in other types of fruit, yogurt, baby carrots, cheese and crackers, dry cereal, or applesauce.  Still, it’s your pretty standard lunch.  I’ve been looking to mix it up a little, and here’s what I found.

Main Lunch Component

  • p b & j
  • deli meat sandwiches
  • pasta salad
  • deli meat and cheese wrap
  • egg salad & crackers
  • leftover pizza
  • tuna salad & crackers
  • cheese, sausage, & crackers
  • cereal with separate container of milk
  • celery, peanut butter, & raisins
  • BLT or BLT wrap
  • bagel with ham and cream cheese
  • salad with dressing in small side container
  • oatmeal packet with a separate container of milk (to heat up)

Snack

  • popcorn
  • fruit leather
  • yogurt and granola
  • nuts
  • string cheese
  • trail mix
  • whole or cut fruit
  • peanut butter balls
  • carrot sticks or peppers with hummus
  • cherry tomatoes
  • hardboiled egg
  • raisins
  • muffin
  • crackers
  • pretzels
  • cottage cheese
  • cheese cubes
  • banana or zucchini bread
  • flavored or regular applesauce
  • granola bars
  • dried fruit
  • goldfish crackers
  • snap peas
  • rice cakes

I have more possibilities for lunch that Paul does.  I can hike down to the teacher’s lounge and use the microwave, toaster, or utensils to assemble my lunch if needed.  Paul eats at his work desk, so he has a few more restrictions.  For ease of eating, his lunches should be ready to eat.   His desk isn’t huge, so he doesn’t want containers all over the place, but I’m not a fan of plastic baggies.  I typically use small glass containers with plastic lids, and they do take up quite a bit of space.  I’ve looked at Bento Boxes (see below), but most of those that I’ve seen are either expensive or geared toward elementary school children.  I guess I’ll just stick with easily edible items, and keep my eyes peeled for affordable, grownup bentos!

Anything else that I could add to the list?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

