Skip to content

Creamy Chicken and Vegetables

May 4, 2011

I’ve been feeling a bit lackluster in the kitchen lately.  I just seem to be drawn to cereal, cereal, cereal.  While this works out very well for me, my husband seems to need a bit more variety to keep happy.  (The nerve of some people…)

Finally, finally, this week I’ve felt a bit more eager to get into the kitchen.  I’ve been oggling over those Philadelphia Cooking Cream commercials that have been playing nonstop, and while I simply can’t break down and buy a container of it, I figured I could at least make a similar dish with ingredients that are a bit less processed (and more affordable, no less).  After a bit of searching, I found a recipe that was just about what I was looking for.  Yum!

Creamy Chicken and Vegetables

Adapted from Kraft Recipes
Ingredients
  • 3 cups small shaped pasta
  • 1 lb.  boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound vegetables (I used fresh carrots, broccoli, and onion)
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 3/4 cup  cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup  Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Cook pasta as directed on package.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet on medium-high heat.  Add chicken; cook 4 min. or until chicken is no longer pink, stirring occasionally.  Stir in vegetables; cook until tender-crisp.  Add garlic during last 30 seconds of cooking time.
  3. Add broth, cream cheese, and Parmesan; cook 2 min. or until cream cheese is melted and sauce is well blended.
  4. Drain pasta.  Add to sauce; stir to evenly coat.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

